Shockwave global

Ask your rules questions here!

Moderator: Dice Masters Mod

Shockwave global

Postby bosworthdelajive » Wed May 13, 2015 11:06 am

1) Can the global on Shockwave be activated in response to a level 1 character being targeted by an Action Die, or must it be done ahead of time? Does the answer depend on if it is your turn or your opponent's?

Ex: My opponent uses the action Anger Issues targeting his Martian Manhunter: J'onn J'onnz which is at level 1. May I spend 1 generic energy to prevent this after he has declared the action or do I have to wait for my opponent to pass priority and hope he hasn't used Anger Issues yet?


2) Can the global be used to temporarily negate an ongoing effect from an Action Die that has already been played?

Ex: My Martian Manhunter was targeted by Phantom Zone on a previous turn. Can I use the Shockwave global to get my Martian Manhunter back for the duration of my current turn? Does this count as "cancelling" Phantom Zone? Does Martian Manhunter go back to Phantom Zone at the end of my turn? What if Martian Manhunter leaves the field to the used pile or prep area?
bosworthdelajive
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Wed May 13, 2015 10:53 am

Re: Shockwave global

Postby dmrulesteam » Thu Jun 25, 2015 11:03 am

1) Can the global on Shockwave be activated in response to a level 1 character being targeted by an Action Die, or must it be done ahead of time? Does the answer depend on if it is your turn or your opponent's?

Ex: My opponent uses the action Anger Issues targeting his Martian Manhunter: J'onn J'onnz which is at level 1. May I spend 1 generic energy to prevent this after he has declared the action or do I have to wait for my opponent to pass priority and hope he hasn't used Anger Issues yet?


Shockwave’s global ability is not a “triggered” ability (i.e., it does not say “When one of your level 1 characters is effected by an action die, pay 1 to prevent that effect and all other effects of action die on that character for the rest of the turn”). As a result, it may only be used when non-triggered global abilities may be used (i.e., not in response to the opposing player using an action die). This answer does not depend on whose turn it is. (See viewtopic.php?f=10&t=1610)

2) Can the global be used to temporarily negate an ongoing effect from an Action Die that has already been played?

Ex: My Martian Manhunter was targeted by Phantom Zone on a previous turn. Can I use the Shockwave global to get my Martian Manhunter back for the duration of my current turn? Does this count as "cancelling" Phantom Zone? Does Martian Manhunter go back to Phantom Zone at the end of my turn? What if Martian Manhunter leaves the field to the used pile or prep area?


No. Game effects that prevent a character from being “affected,” or render them “unaffected,” refer only to the initial application of the game effect at the moment it is applied. Thus, while Shockwave’s global ability would prevent a level 1 character from being effected by an action die if the global ability was used first, it would not remove the effect of an action die if the action die were used first.

The relevant text from the card is as follows:

Shockwave – Basic Action Card:
Global: Pay 1. Target level 1 character is unaffected by action dice this turn.
dmrulesteam
 
Posts: 863
Joined: Thu Oct 23, 2014 12:27 pm


Return to Dice Masters Rules Questions

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests