Displacer Beast: Paragon Monstrosity timing

Ask your rules questions here!

Moderator: Dice Masters Mod

Displacer Beast: Paragon Monstrosity timing

Postby pk2317 » Wed Feb 17, 2016 5:06 pm

Could you please clarify the intended timing for this ability?

Displacer Beast: Paragon Monstrosity (FUS #112) wrote:When Displacer Beast attacks, you can swap it with another attacker after all blockers are declared (before damage is dealt).


According to the most recent rulebook, the timing for the attack step is as follows:

Attack Step
  1. Select attackers.
    • Resolve effects that occur due to attacking.
  2. Assign blockers.
    • Resolve effects that occur due to blocking.
  3. Use action dice. Place them Out of Play when finished.
  4. Both players can use Global Abilities.
  5. Assign and resolve damage. Resolve effects that occur due to damage or KO.

Is this ability intended to take place during the Step 2b timing window (immediately after Blockers are assigned), or can it take place anytime after step 2 (but prior to step 5, according to the parenthetical text)?
User avatar
pk2317
 
Posts: 11
Joined: Wed Apr 15, 2015 5:11 pm
Location: Portland, OR

Re: Displacer Beast: Paragon Monstrosity timing

Postby dmrulesteam » Fri Feb 19, 2016 5:50 pm

pk2317 wrote:Could you please clarify the intended timing for this ability?

Displacer Beast: Paragon Monstrosity (FUS #112) wrote:When Displacer Beast attacks, you can swap it with another attacker after all blockers are declared (before damage is dealt).


According to the most recent rulebook, the timing for the attack step is as follows:

Attack Step
  1. Select attackers.
    • Resolve effects that occur due to attacking.
  2. Assign blockers.
    • Resolve effects that occur due to blocking.
  3. Use action dice. Place them Out of Play when finished.
  4. Both players can use Global Abilities.
  5. Assign and resolve damage. Resolve effects that occur due to damage or KO.

Is this ability intended to take place during the Step 2b timing window (immediately after Blockers are assigned), or can it take place anytime after step 2 (but prior to step 5, according to the parenthetical text)?


After all blockers are declared, you would have the opportunity to use Displacer Beast's effect. If you move past that, you would not be able to use the monstrosity's ability.

-The Dice Masters Rules Team
dmrulesteam
 
Posts: 863
Joined: Thu Oct 23, 2014 12:27 pm


Return to Dice Masters Rules Questions

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests

cron