Wave 0 - RIS Apnex - Varel

Ask your rules questions here!

Moderator: Star Trek Mods

Re: Using Varel

Postby csimian » Mon Nov 17, 2014 6:40 pm

How does this work with the Klingon Flagship?

When attacking, all other friendly Klingon ships within range 1-2 of your Flagship may convert 1 blank result into 1 (hit) result.


Is each Klingon ship in Range 1-2 of the flagship allowed to convert 1 blank result into a hit one time each round? Or is it each attack during the round?
csimian
 
Posts: 5
Joined: Tue Nov 11, 2014 2:26 pm

Re: Using Varel

Postby jrmac » Mon Nov 17, 2014 6:46 pm

Do card's that confer a static bonus, i.e. Tom Paris, giving +1 defence dice or Elizabeth Shelby, giving +1 defence dice and a re-roll against Borg work multiple times per round? Or would only card's such as Sulu stating 'Add 2 Agility for the rest of this round' be the only ones that apply for the whole round?
jrmac
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Tue Nov 04, 2014 5:09 pm

Re: Using Varel

Postby charlesskrobis » Mon Nov 17, 2014 6:53 pm

Does this include using 2 upgrades by the same name?
Such as if I put 2 auxiliary control rooms or 2 secondary shields? Both are passive and may, and while both are once per turn, there are 2 separate cards.

Or does this fall under the can't use the same ability twice thing like how you can't use tetryon emissions twice, even if you have 2 because it counts as the same action?
charlesskrobis
 
Posts: 8
Joined: Wed Nov 05, 2014 6:20 am

Re: Using Varel

Postby csimian » Mon Nov 17, 2014 7:33 pm

How does this work with Elizabeth Shelby?

During the Modify Defense Dice step of the Combat Phase, you may re-roll one of your blank results. If you are defending against an attack from a Borg ship, you roll +1 defense die during the Roll Defense Dice step and you may re-roll all of your blank results during the Modify Defense Dice Step


Given a situation where my ship w/ Elizabeth Shelby is attacked by 2 Borg ships and another non-Borg ship:

1) Defending against the first Borg ship I roll +1 defense die and decide to re-roll my blank results

2) What happens during the attack from the second Borg ship? Do I get +1 defense die? Do I get to re-roll one of my blank results? Or do I get no benefit?

3) During the attack from the non-Borg ship, do I get to re-roll one of blank results?
csimian
 
Posts: 5
Joined: Tue Nov 11, 2014 2:26 pm

Re: Using Varel

Postby coleslaw » Mon Nov 17, 2014 9:41 pm

Does this mean that optional defensive abilities like the Akorem are only once-per-round as well?

Akorem wrote:Each time you defend, if there is an [EVASIVE] Token beside your ship, you may re-roll all of your defense dice once. You must keep the outcome of the 2nd roll.
coleslaw
 
Posts: 8
Joined: Tue Nov 04, 2014 7:32 pm

Re: Using Varel

Postby dmontgomery » Mon Nov 17, 2014 10:42 pm

stawrulesteam wrote:Both of these cards contain the word "may" so they are optional to use. They may only be used once per round.


Can you please clarify the word round. Does it mean a battle round in a tournament as in a full 60 minute battle, or does it mean a series of all ships moving, activating, and shooting (aka, dials to cleanup)
dmontgomery
 
Posts: 22
Joined: Tue Nov 04, 2014 5:43 pm

Re: Using Varel

Postby tsuyoshikentsu » Tue Nov 18, 2014 4:17 am

Is there any card in the game that may be used more than once per round? If so, what phrasing indicates that a card may be used in such a manner?
User avatar
tsuyoshikentsu
 
Posts: 19
Joined: Tue Nov 04, 2014 6:17 pm
Location: New Mexico

Re: Using Varel

Postby stawrulesteam » Tue Nov 18, 2014 3:17 pm

csimian wrote:How does this work with the Klingon Flagship?

When attacking, all other friendly Klingon ships within range 1-2 of your Flagship may convert 1 blank result into 1 (hit) result.


Is each Klingon ship in Range 1-2 of the flagship allowed to convert 1 blank result into a hit one time each round? Or is it each attack during the round?


Each ship may use the card 1 time per turn.
User avatar
stawrulesteam
 
Posts: 845
Joined: Thu Oct 23, 2014 12:27 pm

Re: Using Varel

Postby stawrulesteam » Tue Nov 18, 2014 3:20 pm

jrmac wrote:Do card's that confer a static bonus, i.e. Tom Paris, giving +1 defence dice or Elizabeth Shelby, giving +1 defence dice and a re-roll against Borg work multiple times per round? Or would only card's such as Sulu stating 'Add 2 Agility for the rest of this round' be the only ones that apply for the whole round?


Cards with ACTIONs are not affected by this rule. (ie Sulu)
Cards that provide a continuous bonus would provide that bonus throughout the entire round (Tom Paris & some of Shelby's text)
User avatar
stawrulesteam
 
Posts: 845
Joined: Thu Oct 23, 2014 12:27 pm

Re: Using Varel

Postby stawrulesteam » Tue Nov 18, 2014 3:22 pm

charlesskrobis wrote:Does this include using 2 upgrades by the same name?
Such as if I put 2 auxiliary control rooms or 2 secondary shields? Both are passive and may, and while both are once per turn, there are 2 separate cards.

Or does this fall under the can't use the same ability twice thing like how you can't use tetryon emissions twice, even if you have 2 because it counts as the same action?


All cards that contain non-ACTION text abilities that are optionally triggered by a player, may only be used once per round per ship per card.

If you had two copies of the card on your ship, and they can be used at separate times, you may use that ability twice, once from each card.
User avatar
stawrulesteam
 
Posts: 845
Joined: Thu Oct 23, 2014 12:27 pm

PreviousNext

Return to Star Trek: Attack Wing Rules Questions

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests