Resistance - Month 3 - Questions

Ask your rules questions here!

Moderator: Star Trek Mods

Re: RIF MONTH 3- DEFENDING WHEN NOT IN THE COMBAT PHASE

Postby stawrulesteam » Thu Dec 11, 2014 6:06 pm

trooperrich wrote:As I understand the rules you cannot spend evade token outside the combat phase.

Similarly, it seems you cannot roll defense dice for any attacks that occur outside the combat phase (unless some card or power says otherwise).

In RIF month 3 the scenario rules say whenever you are in Borg space you get attacked by the Borg at the end of the activation phase and all Borg attacks must be resolved before the combat phase begins.

Does this mean that if my ship enters Borg space it cannot roll defense dice or spend evade tokens while being attacked by the Borg outside of the combat phase?


You are incorrect about not rolling defense dice outside of the combat phase. You may roll defense dice outside of the combat phase, but you will not gain +4 defense dice from being cloaked.
User avatar
stawrulesteam
 
Posts: 845
Joined: Thu Oct 23, 2014 12:27 pm

Re: Resistance - Month 3 - Defending Against Borg

Postby stawrulesteam » Thu Dec 11, 2014 6:10 pm

trad wrote:1. When a ship is attacked by a Borg ship, do they roll their full defense die against the attacks (-2 if in Borg space)? Do they get a defense roll if in the conduit?

2. If a ship is equipped with Shelby, does it get the +1 defense and reroll when attacked by the Borg ships?

3. Can a ship in the conduit take actions on its action bar to help with its rolls (such as Battlestations or Target lock)?


1. Yes, you roll your natural defense dice and any modifiers that are currently available. You do not get +4 defense dice for being cloaked.

2. No, Shelby's ship would not benefit from being attacked by Borg because the Borg in the scenario are not ships and her text specifies "Borg ships".

3. No, you cannot take any ACTIONs while in the Conduit.
User avatar
stawrulesteam
 
Posts: 845
Joined: Thu Oct 23, 2014 12:27 pm

Re: "Endgame" (RiF3) Questions:

Postby stawrulesteam » Thu Dec 11, 2014 6:14 pm

trad wrote:The scenario text reads "The Borg vessels perform 2 separate attacks of 4 dice each at the end of each Activation Phase against every ship in Borg space".

Since the attacks happen after all ship have completed their activation phase, is the attack only based on the ship's final position?

Example: Would a ship be attacked if its turn template passed through borg space but the starting and final position of the base were fully outside of Borg space?


Yes, in this scenario that is correct
User avatar
stawrulesteam
 
Posts: 845
Joined: Thu Oct 23, 2014 12:27 pm

Re: "Endgame" (RiF3) Questions:

Postby stawrulesteam » Thu Dec 11, 2014 6:16 pm

esquireflyer wrote:But do cards that target your own ship to give you defense bonuses still work when being attacked by the "Borg vessels" in the scenario?

For example, Tom Paris ("When defending, your ship rolls 1 extra defense die."). Would he still give you +1 defense die?
Or Hikaru Sulu ("ACTION: Add 2 to your Agility for the rest of this round. Each time you defend this round, you may convert 1 (Battle Stations) result into a (Evade) result.")


Yes, cards that give a continuous bonus would (in Sulu's case after taking his ACTION) affect your defense dice.
User avatar
stawrulesteam
 
Posts: 845
Joined: Thu Oct 23, 2014 12:27 pm

Re: "Endgame" (RiF3) Questions:

Postby stawrulesteam » Thu Dec 11, 2014 6:18 pm

plopps wrote:a follow up question on RIF op3:

On the turn when your ship(s) exit the play area and enter the transwarp conduit do they get the 2(or more) attacks of 4 dice by the borg in the borg space or do they get 1 attack of 4 dice by the borg in the transwarp conduit?
TRANSWARP CONDUITS
A ship that exits the play area whose maneuver template
overlaps the Aperture Token has left Borg space and
entered a transwarp conduit.


On the turn, when a ship enters the transwarp conduit they would still be attacked as if in Borg Space
User avatar
stawrulesteam
 
Posts: 845
Joined: Thu Oct 23, 2014 12:27 pm

Re: "Endgame" (RiF3) Questions:

Postby stawrulesteam » Thu Dec 11, 2014 6:23 pm

trad wrote:Clarifications on the questions:

1. So Shelby's +1 defense die and reroll ability is NOT triggered by attacks from scenario Borg ships?
2. If a ship in the conduit has one or more tribbles, do the bonuses/penalties still apply?


1. Shelby would not trigger since the Borg in this scenario are not "ships"
2. No, your attacks may not be modified in any way other than specified by the scenario

"This roll cannot be modified in any other way"
User avatar
stawrulesteam
 
Posts: 845
Joined: Thu Oct 23, 2014 12:27 pm

Re: Resistance - Month 3 - Questions:

Postby trad » Thu Dec 11, 2014 8:38 pm

On the turn, when a ship enters the transwarp conduit they would still be attacked as if in Borg Space


The scenario says "A ship that exits the play area whose maneuver template overlaps the Aperture Token has left Borg space and entered a transwarp conduit."

Since a ship that enters the conduit is no longer regarded as being in Borg space, does it roll its normal defense die against the 2 borg attacks on the turn it enters?
trad
 
Posts: 28
Joined: Tue Nov 04, 2014 5:35 pm

Re: Resistance - Month 3 - Defending Against Borg

Postby drnicket » Fri Dec 12, 2014 4:20 pm

stawrulesteam wrote:
trad wrote:2. If a ship is equipped with Shelby, does it get the +1 defense and reroll when attacked by the Borg ships?


2. No, Shelby's ship would not benefit from being attacked by Borg because the Borg in the scenario are not ships and her text specifies "Borg ships".


May we assume this also applies to previous OPs including The Collective OPs that use BCT and BSTs?
User avatar
drnicket
 
Posts: 11
Joined: Wed Nov 05, 2014 1:44 pm

Re: Resistance - Month 3 - Defending Against Borg

Postby stawrulesteam » Fri Dec 12, 2014 5:06 pm

drnicket wrote:
stawrulesteam wrote:
trad wrote:2. If a ship is equipped with Shelby, does it get the +1 defense and reroll when attacked by the Borg ships?


2. No, Shelby's ship would not benefit from being attacked by Borg because the Borg in the scenario are not ships and her text specifies "Borg ships".


May we assume this also applies to previous OPs including The Collective OPs that use BCT and BSTs?


No, this is specific to this OP event.
User avatar
stawrulesteam
 
Posts: 845
Joined: Thu Oct 23, 2014 12:27 pm

Re: "Endgame" (RiF3) Questions:

Postby seijitataki » Sun Dec 14, 2014 1:23 am

stawrulesteam wrote:
plopps wrote:a follow up question on RIF op3:

On the turn when your ship(s) exit the play area and enter the transwarp conduit do they get the 2(or more) attacks of 4 dice by the borg in the borg space or do they get 1 attack of 4 dice by the borg in the transwarp conduit?
TRANSWARP CONDUITS
A ship that exits the play area whose maneuver template
overlaps the Aperture Token has left Borg space and
entered a transwarp conduit.


On the turn, when a ship enters the transwarp conduit they would still be attacked as if in Borg Space


If, via any combination of abilities and effects, a ship is able to cross from outside of borg space, and 'exit' the map such as to be considered in the Transwarp Conduit (effectively 'bypassing' borg space because of their movement), does the ship still suffer an attack from the Borg Vessels as well the Conduit?

Basically, which scenario would be correct:
A) Your ship begins the turn outside of Borg space. You move and use abilities such that you pass over the Conduit and off the map. You are considered in Borg space, and take a round of shooting from the Borg vessels. You then take a round of shooting from the conduit, and then are allowed to attack the Conduit.

B) Your ship begins the turn outside of Borg space. You move and use abilities such that you pass over the Conduit and off the map. You are not considered part of Borg space (as you have entered the Conduit and have been taken off the map) and therefore do not take fire from the Borg Vessels, only take a round of shooting from the Conduit, and are then allowed to attack the Conduit.
seijitataki
 
Posts: 7
Joined: Sun Nov 02, 2014 1:36 am

PreviousNext

Return to Star Trek: Attack Wing Rules Questions

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests