Wave 0 - RIS Apnex - Varel

Ask your rules questions here!

Moderator: Star Trek Mods

Re: Using Varel

Postby stawrulesteam » Tue Nov 18, 2014 3:31 pm

coleslaw wrote:Does this mean that optional defensive abilities like the Akorem and Elizabeth Shelby are only once-per-round as well?

Akorem wrote:Each time you defend, if there is an [EVASIVE] Token beside your ship, you may re-roll all of your defense dice once. You must keep the outcome of the 2nd roll.




Cards that state "Each time you defend" OR "Each time you attack" are continuous effects which would affect all attacks or defense rolls.

The Akorem may use it's ability more than 1 time per turn.
User avatar
stawrulesteam
 
Posts: 845
Joined: Thu Oct 23, 2014 12:27 pm

Re: Using Varel

Postby stawrulesteam » Tue Nov 18, 2014 3:36 pm

tsuyoshikentsu wrote:Is there any card in the game that may be used more than once per round? If so, what phrasing indicates that a card may be used in such a manner?


Cards with continuous effects may be used throughout the round and continue to give their bonus to ships.
Cards with the text "each time you defend" OR "each time you attack" may affect each defense roll or attack roll of that ship.
User avatar
stawrulesteam
 
Posts: 845
Joined: Thu Oct 23, 2014 12:27 pm

Re: Using Varel

Postby doomtwig » Tue Nov 18, 2014 3:37 pm

Enhanced Hull Plating: "During the Roll Defense Dice step of the Combat Phase, [...] you may..."

Should the phrasing "during" be read similarly to "each," since there are multiple such steps in each phase, or does this upgrade suffer from the same once-per-round restriction as optional effects without step qualifiers?
doomtwig
 
Posts: 7
Joined: Mon Nov 17, 2014 3:55 pm

Re: Using Varel

Postby stawrulesteam » Tue Nov 18, 2014 3:38 pm

dmontgomery wrote:
stawrulesteam wrote:Both of these cards contain the word "may" so they are optional to use. They may only be used once per round.


Can you please clarify the word round. Does it mean a battle round in a tournament as in a full 60 minute battle, or does it mean a series of all ships moving, activating, and shooting (aka, dials to cleanup)


As stated in the manual a round is one turn of all the phases of the game. Starting with the planning phase, then the Activation phase, followed by the Combat phase, and ending with the End Phase.
User avatar
stawrulesteam
 
Posts: 845
Joined: Thu Oct 23, 2014 12:27 pm

Re: Using Varel

Postby stawrulesteam » Tue Nov 18, 2014 3:43 pm

csimian wrote:How does this work with Elizabeth Shelby?

During the Modify Defense Dice step of the Combat Phase, you may re-roll one of your blank results. If you are defending against an attack from a Borg ship, you roll +1 defense die during the Roll Defense Dice step and you may re-roll all of your blank results during the Modify Defense Dice Step


Given a situation where my ship w/ Elizabeth Shelby is attacked by 2 Borg ships and another non-Borg ship:

1) Defending against the first Borg ship I roll +1 defense die and decide to re-roll my blank results

2) What happens during the attack from the second Borg ship? Do I get +1 defense die? Do I get to re-roll one of my blank results? Or do I get no benefit?

3) During the attack from the non-Borg ship, do I get to re-roll one of blank results?


Elizabeth Shelby is a unique card, in that she has both continuous effects and once per turn effects. You may roll +1 defense die against borg ships as long as she is on your ship. You may either re-roll one of your blank results 1 time in a round OR re-roll all of your blank results when being attacked by a Borg ship 1 time in a round.
User avatar
stawrulesteam
 
Posts: 845
Joined: Thu Oct 23, 2014 12:27 pm

Re: Using Varel

Postby daschretz » Tue Nov 18, 2014 3:48 pm

stawrulesteam wrote:Both of these cards contain the word "may" so they are optional to use. They may only be used once per round.


What about Drex/N'Garen? Their exact text is

Action: When attacking this round, you may convert 1 [Battlestations] result into a [Critical] Result and all your other [Battlestations] Results into [Hit] Results.

Since it says "This Round" would this apply to ALL attacks made by that ship (Multiple attacks being possible with things like Once More Unto the Breach)? If so, would you get the crit only once? or once per attack?
daschretz
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Mon Nov 17, 2014 2:18 pm
Location: Tucson, AZ

Re: Using Varel

Postby doomtwig » Tue Nov 18, 2014 4:04 pm

So, if a card has two different "may" statements (optional effects), only one of them may be used in a given round?
doomtwig
 
Posts: 7
Joined: Mon Nov 17, 2014 3:55 pm

Re: Using Varel

Postby stawrulesteam » Tue Nov 18, 2014 5:56 pm

doomtwig wrote:Enhanced Hull Plating: "During the Roll Defense Dice step of the Combat Phase, [...] you may..."

Should the phrasing "during" be read similarly to "each," since there are multiple such steps in each phase, or does this upgrade suffer from the same once-per-round restriction as optional effects without step qualifiers?


No, Enhanced Hull Plating may only be used once per round.
User avatar
stawrulesteam
 
Posts: 845
Joined: Thu Oct 23, 2014 12:27 pm

Re: Using Varel

Postby stawrulesteam » Tue Nov 18, 2014 5:59 pm

daschretz wrote:
stawrulesteam wrote:Both of these cards contain the word "may" so they are optional to use. They may only be used once per round.


What about Drex/N'Garen? Their exact text is

Action: When attacking this round, you may convert 1 [Battlestations] result into a [Critical] Result and all your other [Battlestations] Results into [Hit] Results.

Since it says "This Round" would this apply to ALL attacks made by that ship (Multiple attacks being possible with things like Once More Unto the Breach)? If so, would you get the crit only once? or once per attack?


This rule is for Non-Action card text. These cards would not be affected and will continue to work as they have in the past.
User avatar
stawrulesteam
 
Posts: 845
Joined: Thu Oct 23, 2014 12:27 pm

Re: Using Varel

Postby stawrulesteam » Tue Nov 18, 2014 6:00 pm

doomtwig wrote:So, if a card has two different "may" statements (optional effects), only one of them may be used in a given round?


That is correct, each card that is optional may only be activated once per round no matter how many abilities it has.
User avatar
stawrulesteam
 
Posts: 845
Joined: Thu Oct 23, 2014 12:27 pm

PreviousNext

Return to Star Trek: Attack Wing Rules Questions

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests