Wave 0 - RIS Apnex - Varel

Ask your rules questions here!

Moderator: Star Trek Mods

Re: Using Varel

Postby valkoreth » Tue Nov 18, 2014 10:06 pm

stawrulesteam wrote:
jrmac wrote:Do card's that confer a static bonus, i.e. Tom Paris, giving +1 defence dice or Elizabeth Shelby, giving +1 defence dice and a re-roll against Borg work multiple times per round? Or would only card's such as Sulu stating 'Add 2 Agility for the rest of this round' be the only ones that apply for the whole round?


Cards with ACTIONs are not affected by this rule. (ie Sulu)
Cards that provide a continuous bonus would provide that bonus throughout the entire round (Tom Paris & some of Shelby's text)


According to this an ACTION based effect may be triggered multiple times in the round the action was used. Does this mean that the Romulan Counter Attack may be triggered multiple times per round?

Counter Attack
ACTION: If you ship's Shields or Hull are damaged by a ship in your forward firing arc this round, you may immediately make 1 free attack against that ship. You may not make this free attack if your ship is destroyed.
valkoreth
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Tue Nov 18, 2014 9:33 pm

Re: Using Varel

Postby ratspike » Wed Nov 19, 2014 2:53 am

How does Varel work against Volley of Torpedoes?

1)Does its activation cancel VoT and thus the additional attack as well?

or

2)The VoT card and all its text is activated (thus initiating the second Torpedo attack)...and then Varel is activated and can cancel one of the two attacks?
ratspike
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Wed Nov 19, 2014 2:42 am

Re: Using Varel

Postby geduld » Wed Nov 19, 2014 9:28 am

Following this ruling on Varel, does it apply to Conditional Surrender as well?

If you were able to save your crew from being discarded can you use CS again to block a second attack?
geduld
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Wed Nov 05, 2014 5:14 am

Re: Using Varel

Postby stawrulesteam » Wed Nov 19, 2014 10:00 am

valkoreth wrote:
stawrulesteam wrote:
jrmac wrote:Do card's that confer a static bonus, i.e. Tom Paris, giving +1 defence dice or Elizabeth Shelby, giving +1 defence dice and a re-roll against Borg work multiple times per round? Or would only card's such as Sulu stating 'Add 2 Agility for the rest of this round' be the only ones that apply for the whole round?


Cards with ACTIONs are not affected by this rule. (ie Sulu)
Cards that provide a continuous bonus would provide that bonus throughout the entire round (Tom Paris & some of Shelby's text)


According to this an ACTION based effect may be triggered multiple times in the round the action was used. Does this mean that the Romulan Counter Attack may be triggered multiple times per round?

Counter Attack
ACTION: If you ship's Shields or Hull are damaged by a ship in your forward firing arc this round, you may immediately make 1 free attack against that ship. You may not make this free attack if your ship is destroyed.



You are incorrect. This does not change the rulebook which states that ACTIONS may only be activated once per turn by any one ship.
User avatar
stawrulesteam
 
Posts: 845
Joined: Thu Oct 23, 2014 12:27 pm

Re: Using Varel

Postby stawrulesteam » Wed Nov 19, 2014 10:06 am

ratspike wrote:How does Varel work against Volley of Torpedoes?

1)Does its activation cancel VoT and thus the additional attack as well?

or

2)The VoT card and all its text is activated (thus initiating the second Torpedo attack)...and then Varel is activated and can cancel one of the two attacks?


Varel would cancel the attack made by the Volley of Torpedoes. So you would not be able to follow up with a second attack.
User avatar
stawrulesteam
 
Posts: 845
Joined: Thu Oct 23, 2014 12:27 pm

Re: Using Varel

Postby stawrulesteam » Wed Nov 19, 2014 10:08 am

geduld wrote:Following this ruling on Varel, does it apply to Conditional Surrender as well?

If you were able to save your crew from being discarded can you use CS again to block a second attack?


Conditional Surrender is optional due to the requirement of discarding your crew. Conditional Surrender would only be able to activate its text once per round.
User avatar
stawrulesteam
 
Posts: 845
Joined: Thu Oct 23, 2014 12:27 pm

Re: Using Varel

Postby valkoreth » Wed Nov 19, 2014 4:01 pm

stawrulesteam wrote:
valkoreth wrote:
stawrulesteam wrote:
Cards with ACTIONs are not affected by this rule. (ie Sulu)
Cards that provide a continuous bonus would provide that bonus throughout the entire round (Tom Paris & some of Shelby's text)


According to this an ACTION based effect may be triggered multiple times in the round the action was used. Does this mean that the Romulan Counter Attack may be triggered multiple times per round?

Counter Attack
ACTION: If you ship's Shields or Hull are damaged by a ship in your forward firing arc this round, you may immediately make 1 free attack against that ship. You may not make this free attack if your ship is destroyed.



You are incorrect. This does not change the rulebook which states that ACTIONS may only be activated once per turn by any one ship.



Could the effect of this action be used multiple times if my ship was damaged by multiple ships in my forward firing arc, making 1 free attack against each ship that dealt damage?
valkoreth
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Tue Nov 18, 2014 9:33 pm

Re: Using Varel

Postby stawrulesteam » Wed Nov 19, 2014 4:34 pm

Could the effect of this action be used multiple times if my ship was damaged by multiple ships in my forward firing arc, making 1 free attack against each ship that dealt damage?


2. Can the effect of Counter Attack trigger multiple times during the same round?
No. However, a player may choose to not trigger the effect if he wishes (e.g. to use the effect against a ship firing later in the round).


As stated in the FAQ Counter Attack can only trigger one time in a round.
User avatar
stawrulesteam
 
Posts: 845
Joined: Thu Oct 23, 2014 12:27 pm

Re: Using Varel

Postby croberts921 » Thu Nov 20, 2014 12:03 pm

Nullifier Core, says:
"Each time you defend while cloaked, you may re-roll 1 of your defense dice. Discard this card if your ship sustains any damage to its hull."


Which phase takes precedence; the "each time you defend while cloaked" or the "MAY re-roll 1 defense dice"?
croberts921
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Thu Nov 20, 2014 12:03 pm

Re: Using Varel

Postby stawrulesteam » Fri Nov 21, 2014 10:31 am

croberts921 wrote:Nullifier Core, says:
"Each time you defend while cloaked, you may re-roll 1 of your defense dice. Discard this card if your ship sustains any damage to its hull."


Which phase takes precedence; the "each time you defend while cloaked" or the "MAY re-roll 1 defense dice"?


You may only use a card with non-ACTION optional text once per round except when it states "each time you defend" or "each time you attack".

Nullifier Core will allow you to re-roll 1 of your defense dice each time you are attacked.
User avatar
stawrulesteam
 
Posts: 845
Joined: Thu Oct 23, 2014 12:27 pm

PreviousNext

Return to Star Trek: Attack Wing Rules Questions

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests