Resistance - Month 3 - Questions

Ask your rules questions here!

Moderator: Star Trek Mods

Resistance - Month 3 - Questions

Postby benhosp » Mon Nov 17, 2014 1:23 pm

(1) "The Borg vessels [that attack ships in Borg Space] cannot be attacked, destroyed or affected by any Action or text ability." Does that apply to effects that globally affect all attacks against my ship? For example:
(a) I suppose I can't target them as the "enemy ship" with Diplomacy, but if I target an opponent's ship with Diplomacy, would the Borg vessels' attacks be prevented by Diplomacy?
(b) Would Corbomite Maneuver work, or does it not apply because the Borg vessels are not "enemy ships" as specified on Corbomite Maneuver?
(c) Similarly, does Gorkon's (Kronos One version) ability not apply to the Borg vessels because he specifies "every ship that attacks" his ship this round.
(d) What about Picard Maneuver, which just says "All attacks against [my] ship this round are at -4 attack dice" without specifying the source of the attack?
(e) Do the attacks by the Borg vessels count as attacks "from a Borg ship" for Elizabeth Shelby? (Or does she not apply at all because the attacks come outside of the Combat Phase?"

(2) The rules say that ships attempting to destroy the Transwarp Hub have all their Upgrades, Captains, and Admirals Disabled and cannot be enabled for the rest of the game, but that such ships "attack the hub with their Primary Weapons in descending order of Captain Skill." Are we meant to read that as "descending order of the Captain's printed skill (or highest remaining Drone Token), even though he is Disabled"?

(3) What exactly happens while a ship is "in a Transwarp Conduit"?
(a) Does the ship roll defense dice against the Borg vessel that attacks it while in the Transwarp Conduit?
(b) Does it get to do things in the End Phase like re-enable any Disabled Shields it might have had when it entered the Transwarp Conduit or voluntarily de-cloak if it were cloaked when it entered? (Which would be particularly important, since Cloaking is no use against the attack the ship receives while in the Conduit, because again, it happens outside of the Combat Phase.) If it has a Tribble token on it, would it get another Tribble token in the End Phase?
(c) Can the ship take Actions? Obviously that would not matter very often, since everything on the ship is Disabled, and very few things on Action Bars would be relevant, since Evade tokens can't be spent outside of the Combat Phase, the Hub doesn't roll defense dice anyway so a Scan token wouldn't help, and Target Locks and Battlestations tokens can't be used to modify my roll when I attack the Hub, but what about Actions in the ship card's text itself? Could I disable shields on U.S.S. Enterprise (Refit) to add dice to my attack roll? Could I use U.S.S. Equinox's Action to repair all my shields? Could I spend a Drone Token on my (Disabled) Captain to repair 1 damage to my Hull or Shields with Assimilation Target Prime?
(d) What about non-Action abilities on ship cards? I assume the Tal'kir's ability doesn't work because we're not in the Combat Phase, but what about I.S.S. Defiant?
(e) Is there any way for a ship in a Transwarp Conduit to remove any Auxiliary Power Tokens it might have?
benhosp
 
Posts: 7
Joined: Thu Nov 06, 2014 11:53 am

Resistance - Month 3 - Borg Attacks

Postby klavigne95 » Fri Nov 21, 2014 6:24 pm

In Resistance is Futile, OP 3 - Endgame, while in the nebula

1. do ships roll dice for being cloaked when attacked by the borg?
2. may ships spend battlestations or evade tokens?
3. if a ship uses Picard Maneuver, are borg attacks at -4 dice?
4. may ships use abilities like sulu that say convert 1 battlestations to a miss

while in the transwarp conduit

1. do ships perform actions during the activation phase?
2. may ships spend evade or battlestations tokens to modify attack or defense dice?
3. if a ship uses Picard Maneuver, are borg attacks at -4 dice?
klavigne95
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Mon Nov 17, 2014 6:30 pm

Resistance - MONTH 3- DEFENDING WHEN NOT IN THE COMBAT PHASE

Postby trooperrich » Fri Nov 21, 2014 8:15 pm

As I understand the rules you cannot spend evade token outside the combat phase.

Similarly, it seems you cannot roll defense dice for any attacks that occur outside the combat phase (unless some card or power says otherwise).

In RIF month 3 the scenario rules say whenever you are in Borg space you get attacked by the Borg at the end of the activation phase and all Borg attacks must be resolved before the combat phase begins.

Does this mean that if my ship enters Borg space it cannot roll defense dice or spend evade tokens while being attacked by the Borg outside of the combat phase?
trooperrich
 
Posts: 8
Joined: Tue Nov 04, 2014 10:15 pm

Resistance - Month 3 - Defending Against Borg

Postby trad » Mon Nov 24, 2014 11:14 am

1. When a ship is attacked by a Borg ship, do they roll their full defense die against the attacks (-2 if in Borg space)? Do they get a defense roll if in the conduit?

2. If a ship is equipped with Shelby, does it get the +1 defense and reroll when attacked by the Borg ships?

3. Can a ship in the conduit take actions on its action bar to help with its rolls (such as Battlestations or Target lock)?
trad
 
Posts: 28
Joined: Tue Nov 04, 2014 5:35 pm

Re: "Endgame" (RiF3) Questions:

Postby stawrulesteam » Tue Nov 25, 2014 2:40 pm

(1) "The Borg vessels [that attack ships in Borg Space] cannot be attacked, destroyed or affected by any Action or text ability." This applies to all effects that globally effect attacks against ships. None of the cards listed above would have any impact on the scenario's Borg ships or the attacks they generate.
(2) That is correct.
(3)
(a) Yes, you roll your normal defense dice (unless their timing is specified, like the +4 for being cloaked).
(b) You may restore shields, drop cloak, and tribbles will continue to multiply.
(c) no, you have 2 options every round RETURN TO THE ALPHA QUADRANT or ATTEMPT TO DESTROY THE HUB only
(d) Your ship has left the play area and its text is no longer in play. It is only used to determine how many dice to attack and defend with and damage
(e)No. The ship is no longer in the play area so Auxiliary Power Tokens no longer apply to it. It cannot execute green maneuvers, or maneuvers of any variety, while in the conduit.
User avatar
stawrulesteam
 
Posts: 845
Joined: Thu Oct 23, 2014 12:27 pm

Re: "Endgame" (RiF3) Questions:

Postby trad » Tue Nov 25, 2014 3:30 pm

Clarifications on the questions:

1. So Shelby's +1 defense die and reroll ability is NOT triggered by attacks from scenario Borg ships?
2. If a ship in the conduit has one or more tribbles, do the bonuses/penalties still apply?
trad
 
Posts: 28
Joined: Tue Nov 04, 2014 5:35 pm

Re: "Endgame" (RiF3) Questions:

Postby esquireflyer » Tue Nov 25, 2014 5:09 pm

But do cards that target your own ship to give you defense bonuses still work when being attacked by the "Borg vessels" in the scenario?

For example, Tom Paris ("When defending, your ship rolls 1 extra defense die."). Would he still give you +1 defense die?
Or Hikaru Sulu ("ACTION: Add 2 to your Agility for the rest of this round. Each time you defend this round, you may convert 1 (Battle Stations) result into a (Evade) result.")
esquireflyer
 
Posts: 18
Joined: Wed Nov 05, 2014 2:37 pm

Re: "Endgame" (RiF3) Questions:

Postby plopps » Thu Dec 04, 2014 10:33 am

a follow up question on RIF op3:

On the turn when your ship(s) exit the play area and enter the transwarp conduit do they get the 2(or more) attacks of 4 dice by the borg in the borg space or do they get 1 attack of 4 dice by the borg in the transwarp conduit?
TRANSWARP CONDUITS
A ship that exits the play area whose maneuver template
overlaps the Aperture Token has left Borg space and
entered a transwarp conduit.
plopps
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Fri Nov 14, 2014 1:39 pm

Re: "Endgame" (RiF3) Questions:

Postby trad » Thu Dec 11, 2014 2:28 pm

The scenario text reads "The Borg vessels perform 2 separate attacks of 4 dice each at the end of each Activation Phase against every ship in Borg space".

Since the attacks happen after all ship have completed their activation phase, is the attack only based on the ship's final position?

Example: Would a ship be attacked if its turn template passed through borg space but the starting and final position of the base were fully outside of Borg space?
trad
 
Posts: 28
Joined: Tue Nov 04, 2014 5:35 pm

Re: Resistance - Month 3 - Borg Attacks

Postby stawrulesteam » Thu Dec 11, 2014 6:04 pm

klavigne95 wrote:In Resistance is Futile, OP 3 - Endgame, while in the nebula

1. do ships roll dice for being cloaked when attacked by the borg?
2. may ships spend battlestations or evade tokens?
3. if a ship uses Picard Maneuver, are borg attacks at -4 dice?
4. may ships use abilities like sulu that say convert 1 battlestations to a miss

while in the transwarp conduit

1. do ships perform actions during the activation phase?
2. may ships spend evade or battlestations tokens to modify attack or defense dice?
3. if a ship uses Picard Maneuver, are borg attacks at -4 dice?


While in the Nebula:
1. No, the Borg are attacking outside of the combat phase and you only recieve +4 defence dice during the combat phase.
2. No, tokens may only be spent during the combat phase
3. No "The Borg vessels cannot be attacked, destroyed or affected by any Action or text ability"
4. Abilities like Sulu's card text would affect your defense roll since they are always active (once you take the ACTION in the case of Sulu).

While in the Transwarp conduit:

1. No, you cannot perform any ACTIONs in the Transwarp conduit
2. No, when attacking in the Transwarp Conduit "This roll cannot be modified in any other way." so you may not spend tokens. Additionally, the Borg attack during the activation phase and not the combat phase.
3. No, for the same reason above.
User avatar
stawrulesteam
 
Posts: 845
Joined: Thu Oct 23, 2014 12:27 pm

Next

Return to Star Trek: Attack Wing Rules Questions

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests