General - Captain/Upgrade Token Interaction

Ask your rules questions here!

Moderator: Star Trek Mods

General - Captain/Upgrade Token Interaction

Postby seijitataki » Wed Aug 05, 2015 11:07 pm

It was previously ruled that 1 token could only be used to activate the effect of 1 Upgrade. How does this interact with Captains, now that there is a token that both Captains and Upgrade can potentially trigger off of?

"(Captain) Tomalak: When attacking with your Pimrary Weapon, if there is a Scan Token beside your ship, during the Modify Attack Dice step, you may re-roll all of your blank results once."
"(Crew) Mr. Spock: If your ship has a Scan Token beside it when you attack, you may convert all of your Battlestation results into Hit results."

As Captains are not Upgrades, does this mean that you can trigger both Tomalak and Spock on a single Scan token, similarly to how you would otherwise be able to use both a ship effect and a single Upgrade effect off a single token?
seijitataki
 
Posts: 7
Joined: Sun Nov 02, 2014 1:36 am

Re: General - Captain/Upgrade Token Interaction

Postby stawrulesteam » Thu Aug 06, 2015 9:59 am

seijitataki wrote:It was previously ruled that 1 token could only be used to activate the effect of 1 Upgrade. How does this interact with Captains, now that there is a token that both Captains and Upgrade can potentially trigger off of?

"(Captain) Tomalak: When attacking with your Pimrary Weapon, if there is a Scan Token beside your ship, during the Modify Attack Dice step, you may re-roll all of your blank results once."
"(Crew) Mr. Spock: If your ship has a Scan Token beside it when you attack, you may convert all of your Battlestation results into Hit results."

As Captains are not Upgrades, does this mean that you can trigger both Tomalak and Spock on a single Scan token, similarly to how you would otherwise be able to use both a ship effect and a single Upgrade effect off a single token?


1 token could only be used to activate the effect of 1 Upgrade. Captains and Ships are not Upgrades and may activate their game text from the same token as an upgrade.
User avatar
stawrulesteam
 
Posts: 845
Joined: Thu Oct 23, 2014 12:27 pm

Re: General - Captain/Upgrade Token Interaction

Postby mrgoofball » Tue Oct 23, 2018 9:49 pm

Hi! We need clarification on this rule. This ruling says Captains and Ships are not upgrades so they can use the same scan action, but the 5/31/16 Tournament Rules state "38: A token may only activate a single ability off of a single card per round. But the new rulebook confirms the ruling above. So which is it?
mrgoofball
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Mon Oct 17, 2016 1:32 pm

Re: General - Captain/Upgrade Token Interaction

Postby stawrulesteam » Thu Mar 18, 2021 10:51 am

We are amending this so that one token can only be used for one effect each round. This would include captains, ships, upgrades, etc.
User avatar
stawrulesteam
 
Posts: 845
Joined: Thu Oct 23, 2014 12:27 pm


Return to Star Trek: Attack Wing Rules Questions

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 16 guests

Fatal: Not able to open cache/data_global.php