Action Dice vs. Character/Monster Dice

Ask your rules questions here!

Moderator: Dice Masters Mod

Action Dice vs. Character/Monster Dice

Postby homeyclaus » Mon May 11, 2015 4:51 pm

I'm just trying to get some clarification here. I understand, per the rulebook, that dice are classified as either character dice (dice that have a character on at least one of the faces) or action dice (dice that don't have a character). By this logic, this would make Sidekick dice in the dice bag/Used Pile/Prep Area (i.e. not in play) character dice because they have a character face on them (and they're obviously not action dice). I also understand, after doing some digging, that character dice (Marvel/DC) = monster dice (YGO). This would lead me to believe that Sidekick dice found in my dice bag to be monster dice. If this line of logic is not correct here, please let me know .

Now, with the card Sangan -- Sacrificial Fiend, its text states "When this monster gets knocked out, you may pull two dice from your bag. If both are monsters, put them in your prep area; otherwise, return them to your hand." I read a ruling on these forums that stated that if I pulled a Sidekick and a non-Sidekick monster die from my bag with this ability, they would both have to be returned to the bag. Why? Are they not both monster dice? This is very confusing.

If I'm missing something here, please explain to me so that I can relay this to some of the other players here in our playgroup.
homeyclaus
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Mon May 11, 2015 4:35 pm

Re: Action Dice vs. Character/Monster Dice

Postby dmrulesteam » Thu May 14, 2015 2:36 pm

I'm just trying to get some clarification here. I understand, per the rulebook, that dice are classified as either character dice (dice that have a character on at least one of the faces) or action dice (dice that don't have a character). By this logic, this would make Sidekick dice in the dice bag/Used Pile/Prep Area (i.e. not in play) character dice because they have a character face on them (and they're obviously not action dice). I also understand, after doing some digging, that character dice (Marvel/DC) = monster dice (YGO). This would lead me to believe that Sidekick dice found in my dice bag to be monster dice. If this line of logic is not correct here, please let me know .

Now, with the card Sangan -- Sacrificial Fiend, its text states "When this monster gets knocked out, you may pull two dice from your bag. If both are monsters, put them in your prep area; otherwise, return them to your hand." I read a ruling on these forums that stated that if I pulled a Sidekick and a non-Sidekick monster die from my bag with this ability, they would both have to be returned to the bag. Why? Are they not both monster dice? This is very confusing.

If I'm missing something here, please explain to me so that I can relay this to some of the other players here in our playgroup.


As they exist before they are in play (i.e., in your dice bag), there are three types of dice: action dice, character dice, and sidekick dice. The language from the rulebook that speaks of “two types” of dice says, “Cards and their associated dice come in two types: characters and actions.” This statement is accurate, because sidekicks do not have cards associated with them, and thus are a third type of dice not referenced in the language quoted from the rulebook. Sidekick dice may later also be considered character dice if rolled on a character face, but they are not considered character dice unless and until that occurs—i.e., as they exist in your bag, they are “sidekick dice” only, not “character dice.”

The relevant text from the cards and FAQ is as follows:

DC Dice Masters: Justice League Rulebook Page 2:
Cards and their associated dice come in two types: characters and actions.


-The Dice Masters Rules Team
dmrulesteam
 
Posts: 863
Joined: Thu Oct 23, 2014 12:27 pm


Return to Dice Masters Rules Questions

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests