Hi there, I believe I´m wrong with this but I´m not completely sure, if I have a couple of guys fielded and use prismatic spray greater spell all my characters and my opponent characters as well will go to 1A and 1D, but if after that when attacking I use doomcaliber knight fiendish fighter global ability (pay fist when you attack, your monsters cant be target of action dice or abilities) would that counter the prismatic spray giving to my characters their previous stats?
No. There are two reasons why the use of Doomcaliber Knight’s global ability would not return your characters to their previous stats. First, Doomcaliber Knight’s global ability only prevents new actions or abilities from targeting your monsters, it does not go back in time to undo actions or abilities that have already effected your monsters this turn. Second, Prismatic Spray does not “target” a monster, because it effects all monsters rather than requiring a player to choose a specified number of monsters, so Doomcaliber Knight’s global ability would not prevent the effect of Prismatic Spray even if you has used it before using the Prismatic Spray.
The relevant text from the cards and FAQ is as follows:
Prismatic Spray – Greater Spell:
All characters are treated as if they had 1A and 1D (instead of their normal values, regardless of bonuses) until the end of the turn. Fielding costs remain unchanged.
Doomcaliber Knight – Fiendish Fighter:
While this monster is active, it cannot be the target of action dice or abilities.
Global: Pay [1 Fist] when you attack. Your monsters cannot be the target of action dice or card abilities.
Marvel Dice Masters FAQ – 9/22/2014:
Imprisoned doesn’t use the word “target.” Target implies a set number of targets, not a grouping that meets a requirement (as Imprisoned has you select).
-The Dice Masters Rules Team