Clarification on Millennium Rod - Scepter of Supremacy

Ask your rules questions here!

Moderator: Dice Masters Mod

Clarification on Millennium Rod - Scepter of Supremacy

Postby acshunjaq » Sun May 17, 2015 1:13 am

New to playing and enjoying it so far!

Question(s) about Millennium Rod - Scepter of Supremacy.

1) If I have Millennium Rod - Scepter of Supremacy fielded, and my wife during her attack phase chooses to attack with Cyclops - If Looks Could Kill, can I then us the ability of the Millennium Rod? Or in order to have used it's control power, would I have had to choose to take control of her Cyclops before she chose to attack with it? :o

2) Does the Millennium Rod allow me to use the characters abilities, or just the die itself for attacking/ blocking? E.g. My wife has fielded, Red Dragon - Epic Dragon. On my attack phase, I play the Millennium Rod to take control of her Dragon. Can I then, 1) Attack with the die, 2) Attack AND use the Breath Weapon 3 ability? :mrgreen:

Thanks so much in advance!
acshunjaq
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Sun May 17, 2015 12:05 am

Re: Clarification on Millennium Rod - Scepter of Supremacy

Postby dmrulesteam » Thu Jun 25, 2015 5:15 pm

acshunjaq wrote:New to playing and enjoying it so far!

Question(s) about Millennium Rod - Scepter of Supremacy.

1) If I have Millennium Rod - Scepter of Supremacy fielded, and my wife during her attack phase chooses to attack with Cyclops - If Looks Could Kill, can I then us the ability of the Millennium Rod? Or in order to have used it's control power, would I have had to choose to take control of her Cyclops before she chose to attack with it? :o

2) Does the Millennium Rod allow me to use the characters abilities, or just the die itself for attacking/ blocking? E.g. My wife has fielded, Red Dragon - Epic Dragon. On my attack phase, I play the Millennium Rod to take control of her Dragon. Can I then, 1) Attack with the die, 2) Attack AND use the Breath Weapon 3 ability? :mrgreen:

Thanks so much in advance!


Just to be clear, this is one of the few cards that has received errata. You can see it here: viewtopic.php?f=10&t=4588

For ease of reading, this is the current text of the card:
Continuous. You may move this die to your Used Pile to take control of target opposing monster until the end of the turn. You may attack or block with that monster. (You may use this ability when you may play a Global Ability. This die stays fielded until used.)


1) You have two opportunities during an opponent's turn to use Millennium Rod. Before their attack step during their Main Step after they pass priority, or during their Attack Step after blockers are declared but before damage is dealt.
2) You may use character abilities of dice you control (like Breath Weapon).

The Rulebook explains how controlling dice works. Millennium Rod sends itself to the Used Pile, so it wouldn't be underneath the controlled die, but otherwise this explanation should help clarify:
When you take control of a die, it becomes yours for game purposes. Move it into your field and place it on top of the die controlling it. Your controlling die cannot attack, but can send the controlled die to attack (controlling another mind takes a lot of effort). If the controlled die is of a character that you also have (e.g., you take control of a character die when you have a different version of that card on your side of the table), the controlled die still continues to reference your opponent’s card. If the controlled die is sent to your Prep Area or Used Pile, it goes to your opponent’s Prep Area instead. Otherwise, when your control of the die ends (at the end of the turn or when your controlling character is knocked out), return the controlled die to your opponent, placing it in whatever area you took it from. Your die (that was controlling the other die) remains where it was.


-The Dice Masters Rules Team
dmrulesteam
 
Posts: 863
Joined: Thu Oct 23, 2014 12:27 pm


Return to Dice Masters Rules Questions

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests