sixsixmajin wrote:I think I have had a totally incorrect interpretation of the "whenever you could use a global ability" portion of Synergy (and similar abilities prior to the Synergy keyword). I thought it meant "if you have the ability to use a global, as in, you can pay the cost for one of the available globals, you can use the ability. For example, PXG is available and I have a mask that I can pay it with so even if I don't utilize PXG, I can still use a Synergy ability because I have the ability to use PXG and if I didn't have that mask and couldn't use PXG, then I also couldn't use Synergy.
So if I'm understanding this right, literally the only requirement for using a Synergy ability is it just has to be activated in a window that allows globals to be used (and you pay any costs required by the Synergy)? Willikers, if that's the case, then I have been playing all wrong and I feel silly now...
To remove any doubt, in order to use Synergy abilities you:
1) Must have the appropriate timing window (which matches when you could use Global Abilities)
2) Must be able to pay appropriate costs and have valid targets (if applicable)
-The Dice Masters Rules Team