How Many Times Can I Pay for a Global/Ability?

Ask your rules questions here!

Moderator: Dice Masters Mod

How Many Times Can I Pay for a Global/Ability?

Postby riptide » Sat Oct 25, 2014 12:24 pm

Several cards have globals or abilities that can only be used when something else happens first. These include the global abilites of Vibranium Shield, War Machine, Human Torch - "Flame On!" and Iron Man - Inventor as well as the text ability for Phoenix - Redd (and I am sure I missed a few more).

How many times can you pay for such abilities when there is a single trigger? And is that different for global abilities vs. text abilities?

Example of Play:
I successfully attack my opponent directly with a single Angel. If I have two unspent [shield] energy, can I use War Machine's global ability twice to gain a total of 2 life?
riptide
 
Posts: 11
Joined: Sat Oct 25, 2014 11:31 am

Re: How Many Times Can I Pay for a Global/Ability?

Postby dmrulesteam » Mon Nov 10, 2014 1:01 pm

You can pay for this type of ability once.

A game effect allows you to use the ability, and you may use it once. Your unblocked Angel would let you use War Machine's ability once to gain 1 life.

-The Dice Masters Rules Team
dmrulesteam
 
Posts: 863
Joined: Thu Oct 23, 2014 12:27 pm

Re: How Many Times Can I Pay for a Global/Ability?

Postby kanser » Mon Nov 10, 2014 1:22 pm

Now this also applies for other globals for removing characters from the field or forcing the character to attack correct? I know in the rule book on page 7 it states

"Using a Global Ability
Some character cards and action cards have global abilities printed on them. These effects
are always available, whether or not there is a die from that card in the field. Even though
you cannot purchase an opponent’s die, you can still use an available global ability listed
on an opponent’s card.
During a player’s main step, both players can use any or all global abilities available. To
use a global ability, you must pay the energy cost, moving the die or dice used to pay that
cost to your used pile. In many cases, these effects may be used more than once if the cost
can be paid multiple times
. As with purchasing dice, you can partially spend non-generic
energy. If both players want to use a global ability at the same time, the player whose turn
it is wins the tie."


Now that being said, is the player able to spend the appropriate energy to force more than one character to attack using Mr. Fantastic "Brilliant Scientist" or Phoenix "Ms. Psyche"?
kanser
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Wed Aug 20, 2014 11:36 am

Re: How Many Times Can I Pay for a Global/Ability?

Postby dmrulesteam » Thu Jun 25, 2015 9:39 am

kanser wrote:Now this also applies for other globals for removing characters from the field or forcing the character to attack correct? I know in the rule book on page 7 it states

"Using a Global Ability
Some character cards and action cards have global abilities printed on them. These effects
are always available, whether or not there is a die from that card in the field. Even though
you cannot purchase an opponent’s die, you can still use an available global ability listed
on an opponent’s card.
During a player’s main step, both players can use any or all global abilities available. To
use a global ability, you must pay the energy cost, moving the die or dice used to pay that
cost to your used pile. In many cases, these effects may be used more than once if the cost
can be paid multiple times
. As with purchasing dice, you can partially spend non-generic
energy. If both players want to use a global ability at the same time, the player whose turn
it is wins the tie."


Now that being said, is the player able to spend the appropriate energy to force more than one character to attack using Mr. Fantastic "Brilliant Scientist" or Phoenix "Ms. Psyche"?


Those abilities are different, they don't require something to happen to allow you to use them, only a legal/valid target. So yes, you may use Phoenix's ability more than once.

-The Dice Masters Rules Team
dmrulesteam
 
Posts: 863
Joined: Thu Oct 23, 2014 12:27 pm


Return to Dice Masters Rules Questions

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot] and 2 guests

cron