COSMIC ENTITY Trait

Ask your rules questions here!

Moderator: HeroClix Mods

COSMIC ENTITY Trait

Postby mathman83 » Tue May 22, 2018 11:37 pm

COSMIC ENTITY: Ego-Prime can't be the target of an attack with more than one target.


ENERGY EXPLOSION RANGE: Make a range attack, and all other characters adjacent to an original target also become targets. Hit characters are dealt 2 damage instead of normal damage.


“BECOMES”
Some effects cause a character to become the target, or hit or missed target, of an attack and use the term “becomes.” When this occurs, the affected character(s) automatically become whatever the effect specifies and bypass any effects that would cause the attack or hit or miss to be illegal.


If I target an opposing character adjacent to the character with Cosmic Entity with Energy Explosion, would the character with Cosmic Entity still be targeted?

If I target a character with Cosmic Entity with Energy Explosion and its adjacent to one or more opposing characters, would the character with Cosmic Entity still be targeted?

QUAKE CLOSE: KNOCKBACK. Make a close attack targeting all adjacent opposing characters. If more than one character is targeted, each hit character is dealt 2 damage instead of normal damage.


If I target a character with Cosmic Entity with Quake and its adjacent to one or more opposing characters, would the character with Cosmic Entity still be targeted?
mathman83
 
Posts: 7
Joined: Wed Mar 01, 2017 11:00 am

Re: COSMIC ENTITY Trait

Postby hcrulesteam » Wed May 23, 2018 5:44 pm

mathman83 wrote:If I target an opposing character adjacent to the character with Cosmic Entity with Energy Explosion, would the character with Cosmic Entity still be targeted?

Yes. Energy Explosion causes it to "become" a target, so its effect preventing it from being a target would be bypassed.

If I target a character with Cosmic Entity with Energy Explosion and its adjacent to one or more opposing characters, would the character with Cosmic Entity still be targeted?

No. It's not "becoming" a target, so it's effect will prevent it from being a target of that attack. Note that the attack will still continue against the adjacent characters.

If I target a character with Cosmic Entity with Quake and its adjacent to one or more opposing characters, would the character with Cosmic Entity still be targeted?

No. It will not be a target of Quake, but all other adjacent characters would still be targeted and attacked normally.
User avatar
hcrulesteam
 
Posts: 346
Joined: Wed Oct 22, 2014 3:26 pm

Re: COSMIC ENTITY Trait

Postby bgt » Sun Jun 09, 2019 11:12 am

COSMIC ENTITY: Ego-Prime can't be the target of an attack with more than one target.


COLOSSAL RETALIATION: I HAVE SUPER POWERS!: FREE: If no other Colossal Retaliation power has been activated this turn, choose an opposing character that attacked Ms. Marvel or damaged a friendly character since your last turn. Place Ms. Marvel such that she can make a close attack targeting the chosen character and all other opposing characters within 3 squares and line of fire using KNOCKBACK, then do so.


Would having characters with Cosmic Entity near the chosen target of her retaliation prevent Ms. Marvel from being placed?

Likewise, could she choose a character with Cosmic Entity to retaliate on if there are other opposing characters near them?
bgt
 
Posts: 5
Joined: Fri Mar 13, 2015 3:03 pm

Re: COSMIC ENTITY Trait

Postby hcrulesteam » Mon Jun 10, 2019 11:47 pm

bgt wrote:Would having characters with Cosmic Entity near the chosen target of her retaliation prevent Ms. Marvel from being placed?

No. Ms. Marvel can still be placed and target her chosen character, but the character with the Cosmic Entity trait will just not be targeted.

Likewise, could she choose a character with Cosmic Entity to retaliate on if there are other opposing characters near them?

If Ms. Marvel can be placed in such a way that she only targets the character with the Cosmic Entity trait, then yes. If all placement options would result in targeting the Cosmic Entity character along with other characters, then Ms. Marvel can't be placed.
User avatar
hcrulesteam
 
Posts: 346
Joined: Wed Oct 22, 2014 3:26 pm


Return to HeroClix Rules Questions

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google Feedfetcher and 11 guests